Were you injured in a car accident? Do you believe the other driver or another party was at fault? Our firm can help you take legal action to recover compensation for your damages. Since 1979, the Richmond car accident attorneys at Breit Cantor have been fighting for the rights of injured individuals throughout the state of Virginia.
We've created a special PDF guide on
What the Insurance Company Doesn't Want You to Know.
Work with a Successful & Reputable Law Firm
Our team has successfully recovered hundreds of millions of dollars—including over 150 verdicts and settlements in excess of $1 million—on behalf of our clients. Our attorneys have been recognized by Best Lawyers in America® and Virginia Super Lawyers®, amongst others, for their commitment to the highest level of ethics and client service. We employ a “no stone left unturned” approach to each and every personal injury case in our efforts to secure the maximum compensation our clients are owed.
Reach out today for a free consultation; call (888) 635-9500 or contact us online. We offer contingent fees, meaning you only pay us if we successfully recover compensation for you.
Liability in a Car Accident - Who Should I Sue?
Virginia is one of the few remaining states to adhere to what is known as the “pure contributory negligence rule.” This means that, in order to recover compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and other damages, you must show that the other party is entirely at fault for the accident that led to your injuries. This can be incredibly difficult to do without the help of a skilled car accident attorney.
At Breit Cantor, our personal injury team has over 300 years of combined experience. We conduct in-depth investigations, often working with accident reconstructionists and other experts, in order to determine the cause of an accident—and who is liable.
We look at common causes of car accidents that can be attributed to negligence, including but not limited to:
- Distracted driving, such as cellphone use, texting, or eating while driving
- Driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol (DUI)
- Reckless driving behaviors, such as excessive speeding or street racing
- Fatigued driving, including falling asleep at the wheel
- Illegal driving behaviors, such as running red lights, making illegal turns, etc.
- Aggressive driving, tailgating, and road rage
- Defective roadway construction and/or defective auto parts
Armed with our thorough investigations, we are fully prepared to take your case to trial and aggressively advocate for the full, fair recovery you need and deserve.
What to Do After a Car Accident
After a car accident, there are certain steps that you must take to protect your rights and ensure a positive future. First and foremost, you must look after your health and wellness. If you have suffered injuries, call 911 or have someone around you call. Once you ensure that you are safe, check on others around you.
You will also want to file a police report. Call 911 and provide details of the accident. In most cases, the police will show up and file a police report. Later on when filing a personal injury claim, you can use this report as guidance and evidence. If the police are not able to show up at the scene, you can file the report at your local police station.
Another important step is to collect information from the scene of the accident as well as of the people involved. Collect contact information of the witnesses, obtain information from all parties involved, and take photos of the scene of the accident.
In order to adequately protect your rights and obtain the maximum compensation you are entitled to as a victim of the car accident, contact an attorney to protect your rights.
Statute of Limitations in a Richmond Car Accident
In Richmond, VA, there are time limits, or statute of limitations, that you must adhere to when filing a car accident claim if you want it to be profitable. If anyone was injured in the car accident, you have two years from the date of the accident to file. For lawsuits involving damage to property, such as your vehicle, you must file within five years. In the case that a death occurs as a result of the other party’s negligence who caused the car accident, you will have two years from the date of the accident to file the wrongful death claim.
Call (888) 635-9500 for a Free Consultation
If you have been seriously injured in a car accident or lost a loved one due to another driver’s negligence, our firm is here for you.
5 / 5 stars
Our Richmond car accident lawyers can help you navigate the legal system and serve as your aggressive advocates at every stage of the process. We strive to give voice to your power and seek the maximum compensation you are owed.
Contact us today to request your free, confidential case evaluation.